Istanbul’s part dark wave part dream pop duo, kim ki o have just released their long awaited second album Grounds in Europe with the US set to follow in April. Based in the independent music scene in Kadikoy, on the Asian side of the city, Ekin Sanaç and Berna Göl.  have been steadily developing their sound since the release of their impressive 2010 EP Dans. Like the EP, Grounds features heavy doses of intertwining synth and bass, which is in most evidence on the urgent ‘Insan Insan (Human, Human) as well as inventive use of loops, vocal effects and subtle time signatures. You need look no further than the track ‘siddet, kin ve yuk’ (Violence , Grudge, Burden) for evidence of this. As its title suggests its an unsettling no holds barred take on the disconnectedness of living in a teeming metropolis, a theme that characterises the whole album. Other standouts include the gritty ‘Dogs’, the metronomically spaced out ‘William Chisholm’ and the foreboding ‘biz senle esit degiliz’ (We Are Not Equal With You). Despite the improved sound quality, Grounds still displays the duos DIY aethestic. Kim Ki O play Babylon and Peyote in Istanbul Thursday and Friday, the 14th and 15th of March to launch the album in their home country. Grounds ia available on vinyl and CD from Lentonia Records here and digitally on Bandcamp here.


1. dogs
2. insan insan
3. william chisholm
4. biz senle eşit değiliz
5. bugün yok ki
6. yanlιş yönde ve farklι türde
7. şiddet kin ve yük
8. yer teorisi


biz senle eşit değiliz

kim ki o (TUR)

From the album, Grounds, Lentonia.

kim ki o Official Site

Audio Stream

One Response