Uber talented American singer/songwriter and multi instrumentalist Cass McCombs last week announced the release date for his eighth album, Mangy Love. According to the press release accompanying the news, the record is characterised by McCombs ascerbic take on social and political issues and takes in sounds that range from groove filled Philly soul and subtle psychedelia with a nod to beat poetry. The gloriously lush first single is the Angel Olsen supported ‘Opposite House’, a tale of deliberately odd juxtapositions which raise more questions than they answers. In a world where facts are becoming sinisterly less relevant with each passing day it’s kind of apt.

Mangy Love is out through Anti- on August 26. We won’t mention who is releasing it in Australia so make sure if you live here you purchase it from the US. Do that HERE. An unholy alliance if ever there was one.

1. Bum Bum Bum
2. Rancid Girl
3. Laughter Is The Best Medicine
4. Opposite House
5. Medusa’s Outhouse
6. Low Flyin Bird
7. Cry
8. Run Sister Run
9. In A Chinese Alley
10. It
11. Switch
12. I’m A Shoe


Opposite House

Cass McCombs (USA)
From the forthcoming album, ‘Mangy Love’, Anti-. Out Aug 26.

Cass McCombs Official

Audio Stream

One Response