In April, Canada’s abrasive post punk quartet Preoccupations announced their name change from the original moniker Viet Cong and now they’ve released the first track from their upcoming second self titled record. It reflects the end of a period of great uncertainty for the four piece as all members left their hometown of Calgary and spread themselves far and wide. The forced name change added to the uncertainty. Guitarist/vocalist Matt Flegel has described the songwriting process as almost ‘cannibalistic’ in its ruthlessness. For a full description of the making of the record go HERE. Below is the pensive and spiky, ‘Anxiety’ and its unsettling video directed by Yoonha Park. Precoccupations is out through Jagjaguwar on September 2016.Pre-order HERE.


1.  Anxiety
2. Monotony
3. Zodiac
4. Memory
5. Degraded
6. Sense
7. Forbidden
8. Stimulation
9. Fever



Preoccupations (CAN)
From the forthcoming album, ‘Preoccupations’, Jagjaguwar. Out Sept. 16

Preoccupations Facebook

Audio Stream

Official Video