It’s been three years since we’ve heard from Danish artist Agnes Obel. Having released her excellent second album Avertine in September of that year, she’s now set to release the follow up Citizen Of Glass this October. The Berlin based Obel took on a German based concept for the album, gläserner burger, which is a legal term for the level of privacy an individual has within a state – glass meaning full disclosure. However, in Obel’s mind the term was applied in a sense you may not expect;

“I worked with the title from the very beginning to push myself to do new things; I wanted to push myself conceptually from the starting point, to push the glass theme throughout the songs in different ways – in the lyrics, in the instruments – to do things in a very new way. As an album, it feels bigger to me, a lot bigger.” Agnes Obel.

The first single from the record which was released late last month is the powerful yet delicate ‘Familiar’ which sees Obel artificially lower the tone of her exquisite voice in the chorus in a search for duality. Citizen Of Glass sees release on October 21 on Play It Again Sam and PIAS Recordings. Watch the Alex Bruel Flagstad directed video below.


1. Stretch Your Eyes
2. Familiar
3. Red Virgin Soil
4. It’s Happening Again
5. Stone
6. Trojan Horses
7. Citizen Of Glass
8. Golden Green
9. Grasshopper
10. Mary



Agnes Obel (DEN)
From the forthcoming album, ‘Citizen Of Glass’, Play It Again Sam/PIAS.

Agnes Obel Facebook

Official Video