New York based singer songwriter Julie Byrne has released the first cut from her forthcoming full length record, Not Even Happiness. ‘Natural Blue’ is a exquisite ride with Byrne’s naturally golden vocals and expressively visual lyrics of reflective recollection perfectly suiting the hypnotic and transformative guitar work, subtle orchestration and delicate atmospherics. Byrne’s first record, Rooms With Walls And Windows, was a combination of her first two self released cassettes and Not Even Happiness represents her first truly cohesive long player, a kaleidoscopic document that captures travelling the social fringe, of restlessness and change, of seemingly small details and moments that mean the world. Byrne speaks of her songwriting and the record thus;

“Writing comes from a natural process of change and growth. It took me up to this point to have the capacity to express my experience of the time in my life that these songs came from.” 

“The title of the album comes from a letter I wrote to a friend after a trip to Riis Park’s ‘The People’s Beach’, it was the first warm afternoon of the year. I walked alongside the Atlantic as the Earth came alive for the sun. There was a palpable sense of emergence to everything. I felt it in myself too, and remember thinking I would trade that feeling for nothing…not even happiness.”  

Not Even Happiness will be released through Ba Da Bing Records on January 27. Pre-order on all formats here.


1. Follow My Voice
2. Sleepwalker
3. Melting Grid
4. Natural Blue
5. Interlude
6. Morning Dove
7. All The Land Glimmered
8. Sea As It Glides
9. I Live Now As A Singer


Natural Blue

Julie Byrne (USA)
From the forthcoming album, ‘Not Even Happiness’, Ba Da Bing. Out Jan 27, 2017.

Julie Byrne Official

Audio Stream