Oiseaux-Tempête, the musical project of French artists Frédéric D. Oberland and Stéphane Pignut and a veritable smorgasbord of rotating musicians from the pan Mediterranean region, is set to release a new double album inspired by their travel to culturally diverse Beirut and their constant want to reflect the proposition that shared, organic relational experiences can break down the centuries of elite manufactured dissonance between the people of Europe and the “Middle East” which is still causing so much pain to and in the latter. Called Al-‘An!, which means Now! in Arabic, its the last instalment of a loose trilogy which began in 2012 with their self titled debut. The first two tracks to appear from the record suggest a move towards the employment of more electronic elements within a multi-lingual and multi-dimensional approach where the intersections of tradition and modernity trade paths.

Partly recorded in the Lebanese capital the duo enlisted the amazing amalgam of talent that is Sharif Sehnaoui, Charbel Haber, G.W. Sok, Tamer Abu Ghazaleh, Ali El Hout, Abed Kobeissy, Youmna Saba, Pascal Semerdjian, Pierre-Georges Desenfant and Mondkopf among others to create this realisation. Listen to the hypnotic electronica of ‘Carnaval’ and the poignantly textural and traditionally elemental ‘Mish Aaref Eish W Leish’ (I Don’t Know, What or Why) below. Pre-order the album on vinyl here. It’s out April 14 on Sub Rosa. Amazing!


A1 1 Notes from the Mediterranean Sea
A2 2 Bab Sharqi
A3 3 Feu Aux Frontières

B1 4 Baalshamin
B2 5 Our Mind is a Sponge; Our Heart is a Stream
B3 6 Mish Aaref Eish w Leish

C1 7 Electrique Résistance
C2 8 The Offering
C3 9 Ya Layl, Ya 3aynaki (ô nuit, ô tes yeux)
C4 10 Carnaval

D1 11 Through The Speech Of Stars 
D2 12 A L’Aube


Carnaval (Feat Mondkopf)
Mish Aaref Eish W Leish (feat. Tamer Abu Ghazaleh)

Oiseaux-Tempête (FRA)

From the forthcoming album, ‘AL-‘AN ‘, Sub Rosa. Out Apr 14.

Oiseaux-Tempête Facebook

Audio Stream


One Response