Japanese Breakfast, the project of Michelle Zauner has released the first single, ‘Machinist’ complete with a self directed video from her upcoming new long player, Soft Sounds From Another Planet. The news of a new album comes just a year after the release of her impressive debut Psychopomp and marks an outward search for healing amidst personal tragedy. The production level has more than gone up a notch with the superb kaleidoscopic 80s inspired pop of ‘Machinist’ boasting a smoother more fuller sound than the DIY feel of previous efforts. The video reflects the track’s overarching escapist sci-fi narrative perfectly. Soft Sounds From Another Planet is out through Dead Oceans on July 14. Pre-order the album here.


1. Diving Woman
2. Road Head
3. Machinist
4. Planetary Ambience
5. Soft Sounds From Another Planet
6. Boyish
7. 12 Steps
8. Jimmy Fallon Big
9. Body Is A Blade
10. Till Death
11. This House
12. Here Come The Tubular Bells



Japanese Breakfast (USA)

From the forthcoming album, ‘Soft Sounds From A Distant Planet’, Dead Oceans. Out Jul 14.

Japanese Breakfast Facebook

Official Video