PLAYLIST UPDATE – AUGUST 5: Quick update since last week. New tracks from NYC singer-songwriter Odetta Hartman ‘You You’, the last single from her new album Old Rockhounds Never Die out this Friday (August 10) Winnipeg’s Taylor Janzen ‘The Waiting Room’ from her debut EP out this Friday and Jordan Lee’s Mutual Benefit, ‘Shedding Skin’ from the forthcoming album Thunder Follows The Light out September 21 on Trangressive

PLAYLIST UPDATE – AUGUST 2: Thirteen salient delights have been added to our youngest playlist since we posted its first batch of tracks a couple of weeks back. Bordeaux based duo Queen of The Meadow, the project of Helen Ferguson and Julien Pras is first cab of the rank with the fighting melancholy of ‘Withdrawn’ off the forthcoming album A Room To Store Happiness which sees release on October 5. The same date is set down for C’est La Vie’, the  new album from Matthew Houck’s Phosphorescent. The first single is the celebratory countrified tropicalia of ‘New Birth In New England’. The driving Americana inspired ‘Light On The Ground’ from Seattle based artist Austin Crane’s Valley Maker and his new record Rhododendron is out a week later on October 12.

The versatile and unique folk stylings of ‘Les Miroirs’, the new single from New Jersey based Frenchwoman Tiphanie Doucet  is next before we get a taste of Austin based artist Molly Burch‘s new record First Flower (Captured Tracks) also set for release October 5. Luca Venter directed the video for the low down swinger ‘Wild’.


Molly Burch (USA)

From the forthcoming album, ‘First Flower’, Captured Tracks. Out Oct. 5.

Official Video

The new album ‘To The Sunset’ by singer-songwriter Amanda Shires is out tomorrow and her vocal power and versatility is all over the stunning ‘Parking Lot Piroquette’. Watch its self made video.

Parking Lot Piroquette

Amanda Shires (USA)

From the album, ‘To The Sunset’, Silver Knife/Thirty Tigers.

Official Video

New York City singer-songwriter Jason Bemis Lawrence is set to release his debut album in September. The world weary warmth of ‘How Fast Can You Pack’ is the first single from Another Hotel Hallway and boasts the vocals of Heather Woods Broderick.  Next is the earnest ‘Receiver’, the second single from Might As Well With My Soul by Toronto’s Little Kid which is followed by the luminescent hymn like ‘Deep In A Haze’ from lo-fi folk duo New Indiana off their new album Darkness Sunshine out in two weeks.

The new single ‘What Hurts Worse’ from Sam Beam’s Iron & Wine is a grand ramshackle affair coming from his wryly named new EP The Weed Garden. Out at the end of August, its made up of offerings that didn’t make last year’s Beast Epic.

Another Austin artist, the Americana and folk inspired Nichole Wagner finally got the chance to record and released her debut album And The Sky Caught Fire funded through a kickstarter campaign. Its an impressive first outing and the latest single from it is the deceptively light and expertly augmented ‘Yellow Butterfly’.

With Alison Crutchfield’s band Swearin’ making a comeback, her sister Katie has teamed up ex-Swearin’ member and her Waxahatchee producer Keith Spencer to release a stripped back EP Great Thunder, the name the duo recorded two albums of material under at the time of the Cerulean Salt recordings.  The next track in our playlist is its first single, ‘Chapel Of Pines’  accompanied by a Christopher Good directed video.

Chapel Of Pines

Waxahatchee (USA)

From the forthcoming EP ‘Great Thunder’, Merge. Out Sept. 7.

Official Video

The final track complete with Kevin Gosset directed video is ‘The One I Love’, the throwback folk-rock inspired new single from Night Shop, the project of Justin Sullivan, formerly the drummer for Kevin Morby and Cassie Ramone. His debut album In The Break is out September 14 on Mare Records.

The One I Love

Night Shop (USA)

From the forthcoming album, ‘In The Break’, Mare Records.

Official Video


This playlist is part of a genre based series of seven revolving 30 track Indie30 playlists share using the Spotify streaming platform. Tracks are roughly ordered by release date and will be replaced by new tracks we like as they become available. To change things up from time to time we may change tracks from the same artist and release if its from the same album or EP. All playlists are regularly updated and limited to original tracks only.

If you like what you hear don’t forget to activate the FOLLOW button on the Spotify page and add this to your playlists so you keep regularly updated on the latest tracks in these genres and FOLLOW US on Facebook and Twitter. The playlist can be played directly below.



Updated August 2


JULY 21: Our Indie30 genre based 30 track playlist series is complete with the release of our Independent Folk, Folk-Rock, Country, Americana and Chamber Pop playlist. It’s taken us a while to select these 30 tracks as these are genres we’ve been voyeurs rather than connoisseurs of for many years, loving individual releases by individual artists that cross our path but never quite getting into each genre in enough depth. Therefore, we wanted to make sure we were sharing not only independent tracks and artists but also quality music. We think we’ve done pretty well.

The futuristic brand of folk emanating from Chicago artist Gia Margaret gets us started with deeply affecting and self released ‘Smoke’ which is sitting at 22 in our main chart while Exeter, England based singer songwriter George Holman’s Peacock Affect follows with his delightful genre blending mix of folk, rock and chamber pop in the form of ‘If I Could. Both tracks are self released. Lexington duo RYVOLI released their debut EP Theories a week back and are riding high in the chart at present with the exquisite ‘Ulysses’. Out of the remaining unreleased tracks from it we’ve gone for the gorgeously rich ‘East’. Next is Los Angeles based Cornelia Murr with the delicately sparse closer ‘You Got Me’ from her debut album Lake Tear of The Clouds released through Autumn Tone last week. The ultra personal ‘Milk’ from New York City’s Samia (Samia Finnerty) rounds out the tracks released in the past week. Other artists in the 30 include self released tracks from Vaudeville Etiquette, Lyla Foy and Eden Mulholland as well as two other tracks currently in our Top 30, Marissa Nadler‘s ‘For My Crimes’ and Odina‘s ‘I’ll Carry You’. You can access our current Top 30 chart here while this playlist is below.

One Response