“I know what I want to do with my music. I have a stronger sense of self now.” Rosie Carney.

English born and Irish based singer-songwriter Rosie Carney has released a dazzling set of five singles this year, such prolificness meaning she’s been pretty much a staple in our Folk/Country/Singer-Songwriter/Americana/ Chamber Pop Playlist since we started it in July.  The latest is ‘Zoey’, a gentle piece of heartfelt melancholy which sees Carney strip things back a little and relax the rhythm in comparison to previous single ‘Orchid’ and the delicate off-beat floater ‘Thousand’ with Lisa Hannigan. All three singles in addition to the title track released earlier this year and 2017’s ‘Winter’, will appear on Carney’s long awaited debut album Dare set for release on London based indie Akira Records in January.

It’s been a long road for Carney and ‘Zoey’ is actually the ninth single in total she’s released since escaping her hellish experience with Universal imprint Polydor which she unfortunately signed to in 2014 when she was just 16. After suffering from depression and an eating disorder that stemmed from the trauma of two sexual assaults, she was subsequently dropped from the label two years later. During those two years, artistically she grappled with being forced to work with co-writers and was even asked to change her artist name. Thankfully things didn’t work out and Carney released nothing with Polydor. Since breaking free its clutches, her growing self-concept and the resulting boost in confidence has seen her prolific output more than deliver on her boundless artistic potential. Most importantly, she’s done it on her own terms and ‘Zoey’ does nothing but add to the quality. Listen below and buy the single here. Dare is out January 25.

1. What You’ve Been Looking For
2. Bare
3. Thousand (feat. Lisa Hannigan)
4. Winter
5. Humans
6. Awake Me
7. Zoey
8. Orchid
9. Your Love is Holy
10. 7
11. Bud (rose)



Rosie Carney (ENG/IRE)

From the forthcoming album, ‘Dare’, Akira Records. Out Jan 25, 2019.

Audio Stream


One Response