Former Hüsker Dü frontman Bob Mould has released some 14 solo albums since that band’s acrimonious demise in the last 1980s. Sunshine Rock is his twelfth under his own name and Side Two track ‘Irrational Poison’ leads of our New Independent Pop/Rock playlist using Spotify as it stands today. Mould is followed by Charleston quintet Susto with their new single ‘Last Century’. Then, enter the dramatic driving 90’s rock of Leeds outfit Talkboy with ‘Someone Else For You’ before Donna Blue‘s slow jam ‘Get Away takes things down a notch. Houston’s get a life is next with ”Get A Job’ while MADMADMAD‘s bass and synth show brings us the excellent ‘Mouse Rock’. Los Angeles based Rosie Tucker with the sensationally manic, intelligent and off beat dominant ‘Habit’.

Those seven artists are joined by in release order L.A.’s Brett (not sure what is happening at the abbreviated end), PNKLSM signees and Stockholm quartet Arre! Arre!, the Washington DC duo of Jacob Michael and Jesse Clasen aka Foreign Air San Francisco’s Balms, L.A. duo Cleo Tucker and Harmony Tividad aka Girlpool, Isle Of Wight artist Lauran Hibberd, London trio The Pocket Gods, Madrid quartet El Palacio de Linares, Oslo’s Spielbergs, NYC artist Emily King, Indie30 Top 30 album of 2018 listed artist Lucy Dacus, Austin rockers White Denim, Stockholm’s FEWS, Sydney’s Julia Jacklin, Melbourne “supergroup” The Stroppies made up of members from Dick Diver, The Stevens and Boomgates, Brighton quartet Thyla, the outstanding Brooklyn quartet Teen Body, Orlando raised and Brooklyn based Emily Reo, NYC’s defiantly idiosyncratic Samia, another Brighton outfit to join the aforementioned Thyla, FUR, Amsterdam quartet Dakota, Phoebe Bridgers & Conor Oberst’s Better Oblivion Community Center and Danny Nogueiras of Fidlar’s side project NO WIN.

The list is below. Access it here on Spotify’s web version. Always new, always updated.