London based post punk outfit Ghum have released their new EP, the aptly named The Coldest Fire. Cloaked in dark overtones, across each of the four tracks spirals of fiery delay and reverb combine with menacing angularity to portray the twin forces of resignation and melancholy doing battle with defiance and rebellion. The latter comes out on top as Laura Guerrero Lora’s dynamic vocals add a certain air of authority to proceedings in what is an impressive third outing for the Spanish/English/Brazilian quartet. Listen to the powerful opener ‘1000 Men’ below and buy the EP through Everything Sucks here.

This track is currently joined by 29 other emotive dark art beauties in our New Post Punk, Wave, Shoegaze & Post Rock Playlist on Spotify. Follow here.


1. Saturn
2. Get Up
3. 1000 Men
4. In My Head




From the EP, ‘The Coldest Fire, Everything Sucks.

Audio Stream