After sharing the opening track ‘The early green outburst’ last month from her soon to be released debut album A Point Between, Berlin based Taiwanese electronic composer and audiologist Mei-Fang Liau aka Floating Spectrum today shared another. The inexorable tension and gradually unfolding turmoil that characterises ‘Inner Island’ plainly builds upon the opener, illustrative of the organic nature of an album which traces the emotional vicissitudes that characterise life’s various phases. Through utilising a mixture of synthesisers, including “a self-made, fractal-inspired software synthesiser called Polyphylla’ and commonplace household objects, the sound generated is a consummate feast for the senses. Listen below and pre-order A Point Between here. It’s out September 20 on Temporary Residence.


1. The early green outburst
2. Rising tide, nourishing soil
3. Inner island
4. Falling apart on a dreary field
5. Obscured moon
6. Eruption
7. Descent to the hadal zone


Inner island

Floating Spectrum (TAI)

From the forthcoming album, ‘A Point Between’, Temporary Residence. Out Sept. 20.

Audio Stream

‘Inner Island’ currently gets proceedings underway in our New Experimental & Electronic Playlist on Spotify. Access and follow here for the latest tracks from the wise spectrum of experimental music and non-House and Techno electronic music.


One Response