This is arguably the best set of 30 tracks to appear at one time in our New House Playlist on Spotify since we started it in May of 2018. Meticulous in production and sound design and influenced by and in turn instructive of a kaleidoscopic number of influences, styles and interpretations, each track is a creative representation of what is clearly and much loved genre by its adherents.

Highlights include the sauntering care of ‘Beyond The Stars’ which sets the tone by opening the playlist in fine style. It comes courtesy of the coming together in Berlin of American jazz pianist and keyboard player Joel Holmes and English producer Cody Currie. It’s from the EP New Chapter, the first of two they will release for Toy Tonics. The nocturnal jazz stylings and delicately deep and supple bass of ‘Under Under’ with its touchingly humbling and honest sample of a child’s love for his wheels comes from the new self released EP Old Yet Raw by London producers Ben Hauke and Will Petheridge aka DAM-SLO.

The mesmerising ‘Natty Dread’ is an adroit blend of Afro and deep styles from Trinidad & Tobago born producer Trinidadian Deep, one that reveal its intense and intoxicating character over time. The same idea reversed is employed on Hexagon Earth Theorists’, the beguilingly gradual seven minute exit plan executed from its very beginning by German producer Gab Rhome. It’s title track from his new EP for TRYBESof.

Another two of the many highlights here are first two singles from Fred P‘s forthcoming new album as Black Jazz Consortium, Evolution of Light. The latest ‘Brisbane’, is a symphonous swirl of  heavenly funk with Paris artist Slikk Tim while the first ‘Energies Collide’, which we featured here last week is a sublimely and instructional joy with London artist Ceri B. Detroit’s Floorplan, the father-daughter project of Robert and Lyric Hood feature get some help from Carol Otis and propel us into gospel and Chicago inflected Tech-House territory with the unremitting ‘His Eye Is On The Sparrow.’

The expression of love for House is no more clearly seen than on two tracks in particular from very different ends of the time and style spectrum. The second is a neat piece of punchy jackin’, Afro and tech-house via the collaboration between Perth production duo Prior & Miller and producer Perm who cleverly employ a vocal sample to eulogise the positive energy brought by “work” to the dancefloor. It aptly forms part of the latest Workout Series compilation from left field Australian house label Club Sweat. The second, an infectiously honest and inventive Afro House take on a myriad of styles comes from Rome label Union Records. The nostalgic and soulful vibes and words of adoration come courtesy of encyclopaedically versatile Italian house veteran Peppe Citarella and American underground house luminary Brutha Basil respectively.

Super solid Italian producers Riccardo Paffetti  aka Black Loops and Vittorio Rinaldi aka Innocent Soul have teamed up to release a new EP for Rough Recordings, High Cutz Vol. 2. While any of its three could have appeared here, we went with elasticity of the moog and disco inspired ‘From The Street’, the EP’s opener on its flip side. The deep house swinger that is ‘Linguistic’ comes from Tilburg based producer Kevin Huizing aka Budakid, the flip side from his new 2 tracker The End for Exploited while Berlin deep house experimentalist Rampa returns with the deceptively simple ‘Terrace’ off his new split EP with his fellow German producer &ME. We then veer into darker territory with the downright tense and haunting ‘Poison’ from South African producer Candy Man, a track that sits fascinatingly and insistently just off the beat and just off the boil.

And even if after listening to the dozen tracks above anybody is still harbouring any doubts as to the vitality of House music today in comparison with yesteryear, the finely honed and diverse musical specimens from the following artists and producers must put them to rest;

Frankey & Sandrino, Tim Engelhardt, Lstn, Prok & Fitch, Kozo, Local Artist, Flight_Mode & Joel Brittain, Special Request, Big Miz, iO (Mulen), Sex Voltage, Reboot, Christian Burkhardt, Effenberg, Dwson, SGVO, Qrion, Mattr & DJ Seinfeld.

Access and follow below or here. Enjoy!

All tracks removed from this playlist are added to our Tracks of 2019: House Playlist which can be found here.

All tracks added and rotated through the New Techno Playlist end up in the playlist below…  tracks and counting.
Access and Follow here.